Welcome!

This is a place to share details about your life with the family.

Thursday, December 27, 2007

Kurt

Kurt is cute and nice! You've done good!

Hi

Hi Jenny

after Christmas

Well, it's 2 days after Christmas and it's a gloomy, rainy day in Ohio. We are having to visit friends today so will be gone all day. It was a nice visit with all the Lance's. Hopefully Grandma can get on this blog by herself now that Hayley fixed her up! So I don't have much else to say so everyone have a very Happy New Year!

Carol

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

FINALLY. Or not...

Now David and Ruth have to join! It's up to everyone else to apply peer pressure and/or use your technology skills to assist.

ahhh!

testing..........
Ok,
So we had to change her password and have them resend that confirmation email. Then, we went in and figured out she set up her OWN blog. haha...instead of joining "the family blog" she set up her own called "lodilance." So I don't know if maybe you have to reinvite her or something, but try to get her on that one instead of having that other one. I don't know if that makes any sense...sorry

Thanks Hayley! :)
Hayley,
We can't get Grandma to sign in to a google account. We tried to make a new one with a couple new passwords and it would not work! The email address apparently is already used or something....i don't know. I'm not sure if she messed it up when she first tried to sign up anyway, but can you use another email account? just like a fake one? Cause google doesn't even send you stuff anyway right? 

Krista and Grandma

Tuesday, December 25, 2007

Christmas Day

I am trying to show grandma how to work this...

Sunday, December 23, 2007

Merry Christmas!

Thank you, everyone, for being so understanding. We'd really like to come out there, but it's just really bad timing.

Charlotte told me that she'd really like for her Great-Grandparents to come out to see her on their way to Florida today ;-) She wants to show them all her new skills, like smiling, holding toys and putting them in her mouth. She might even be able to show them how she can jump in her new jumperoo!

Today Adam is working until about 2am. He's scheduled until 1am, but I'm not expecting him to leave until around 2 because it is so busy. When I talked to him around 6pm he said his morning truck had just arrived (very) late.

It is possible for us to be there "via satellite" on Christmas day, if we can iChat through someone's Mac there. Mark and I iChatted the other day, and it seemed to work well (better than it worked with you and I, Carol. I think your connection is slower than the one in Ohio).

Today I taught for 2 hours, and now I'm done teaching until Thursday or Friday! We're so excited to have some time off together.

Charlotte is playing in her jumperoo right now. She keep sticking her fingers in her mouth and accidentally triggering her gag reflex and coughing. Then she switches to sucking on her thumb. Adam and I both think she might be starting to teethe. Her gums feel harder than they did a couple weeks ago. Its so amazing how quickly she's developing. A week ago she had to be held most of the time and now she can hang out in her jumperoo, or sit in her Bumbo chair and play with toys. Of course, I have to run back every 45 seconds or so to pick the toys up off the floor...but at least I get 45 seconds free! The other day I had her sitting in her chair and playing with toys while I cooked dinner, and she was sitting there when Adam came home from work. He thought it was so cute, he grabbed the video camera and started taping her.

Tomorrow I'd like to go to either Target or Babies R Us and get a couple of mesh teethers. They are teething toys made out of a mesh envelope attached to a plastic handle, and you can put pieces of fruit (like oranges or strawberries or melons) in it so babies eat fruit without biting off big choking hazard size pieces. Also, we can put an ice cube in it or a frozen cube of breastmilk, and she can suck on it and soothe her gums. We bought Charlotte a water filled teething ring as one of her Christmas presents too, so maybe that will help too.

Thursday, December 20, 2007

A Crossroads

If you are frequent readers of this blog then you will know that I (Adam) do not blog. However a situation has arisen in which I am required to speak. We have made the decision not to make the trip for Christmas. There are numerous reasons why we should go, the number one reason being family. However as a father and a husband I have a God mandated duty to look out for the welfare of those entrusted to my care. This family is very stressed out right now due to Charlotte's reflux and recent separation anxiety issues. This is not going to be happy news for a lot of the family, but we are not happy about it either. I feel that Charlotte will not be able to deal with being passed around to all the family members and will be over stimulated. When this happens she has no outlet except to cry and when she cries, her reflux gets worse and then she projectile vomits whatever is in her stomach. This has happened every time that she gets over stimulated. I know that everyone is now saying, "well we just won't hold her and she will be fine." I wish I could say it is that easy. Hayley and I have been going nonstop between my school and her work and my work and we need to decompress too. I would be remiss if I did not mention that when all of us get together it is very chaotic. Now this is not normally a bad thing, but it wreaks havoc on a 3 month old. So there you have it, we are staying home, but this opens up the door for us to get together during the summer. The last two weeks in July would be ideal for us but we will have to see. Keep us in your prayers over the holiday season and we will keep you in ours.

Monday, December 17, 2007

Poor Charlotte has quite a bad cold. She's getting better, but she has trouble breathing through the congestion. I'm propped up on the couch on pillows, and she'd sleeping on my chest. I'm stuck, and a bit bored so I started playing with the blog template. I wanted a snowflake background, but apparently you can only pick a solid color, and I don't know html, so I can't go in and tinker with the template. Oh well.

We're toying with the idea of driving out there starting at midnight. We'd try to get some sleep from 7:30-11:30pm (approximately) and then drive out over night. The reason for this is Charlotte seems to want to sleep through the night now (Praise God!). It might be a fluke from her being sick, but she's slept 7-8 hours straight for the past two nights. If we drive overnight, she might sleep through the drive. Adam and I could each drive half the distance, and let the other one sleep for a while. We don't really know what we're going to do yet though. Either way, it looks like we're in for a sleepy Christmas day...

Saturday, December 15, 2007

Can you believe how quickly December is going by? It feels like time is passing so quickly.

Adam and I were talking about the trip out there, and we've decided together that if this car ride is disastrous, we're turning around and coming back home. Rest assured, I'm doing everything I can to ensure we get out there though. I'm going to try to tank Charlotte up on milk right before we leave, and and get car loaded as best I can before Adam gets home. Adam has to work from 8am-6pm Christmas eve, and then we're planning to get right in the car to drive out there. Charlotte has never been in the car for such a long period of time before, so if she starts screaming (really screaming...) we're coming back home. The car seat is one of the worst places for a baby with reflux to be, and it'll take us 6-8 hours to get out there. We figure we'll have to stop a few times for feedings and diaper changes. Charlotte has had mini-meltdowns in the car in the past couple of weeks. If she's in her carseat longer than about an hour, she starts crying.

Another thing that will make this drive difficult is that Adam will have almost no sleep in the days leading up to Christmas (he has only a 6 hour gap between shifts before Christmas eve) so that means I have to drive. I don't exactly get a lot of sleep lately, so if we're both too tired to drive, we're going to have to skip this trip so we don't drive off the side of the road. Last time we drove out there it took over 12 hours, and we both very nearly fell asleep at the wheel.

I wish we could take a whole day to drive out, but Adam only has a couple days of for Christmas, and he was lucky to get those. This is why hes going back to school though- so he can have more time with family.

So if we don't make it out, please forgive us. We're going to try as hard as we can.

snow!

Well I made it home from Virginia on Thursday and it is freezing! Wednesday, it was 70 at school and I was wearing shorts! We are getting a big winter storm here now. Jenny, Kurt, and I started out for Columbus today to go shopping, and we had to turn around because the road were getting too bad and there were wrecks everywhere! We have about 5 inches of snow and now it is freezing rain. Tomorrow it is supposed to turn back over to snow. We will probably be stuck at home all day tomorrow, so I am assuming mom will have us baking cookies or cleaning!

I start work at Smucker's again on Monday. They have work scheduled for me for the next two weeks and hopefully they will find more work for the rest of the time I am here. It is nice that they allow me to come work over breaks and I can always use the money for expenses during the semester.

I don't if everyone heard, but we are having a "Lance Reunion" (as it is referred to...lol) here the day after Christmas. The extended family is making there way down here in the evening for dinner, so it should be a good time to catch up with everyone.

Well, I can't wait to see everyone! Fewer and fewer high school friends are around on breaks as I get older and I am looking forward to having some fun while everyone is here. I have resorted to movies and Food Network for tonight since the weather is bad and I am starting to get restless! A change of pace from being on the dorm with so many people all the time! Hope everyone is doing well and I will see you all soon!!!

Mark

Excitement!

AH! I am so looking forward to a wii tournament! I have watched people play and i think played once, but not very much! I've always wanted too haha that will be really fun! What year is your mac? I'm making our swim video for the end of the season (not till feb) on my mom's new mac so that will be fun. I'm excited to do that.

I had a swim meet today. It was the Colorado Invite so we had to qualify for it. I went in my 50 free, and then also for our 200 free relay. I was really close to qualifying for state for my 50! I was kinda mad because i wanted to before Jan. The cut off is 26.6 and I got 26.7, its that close! But, our 200 free relay qualified!!! We were about 2 seconds under the state time so thats good! So far we have made it to state in two relays, and hoping for the third come Jan. I will also hopefully qualify in my 50 free, and maybe 100 free too. It will be a good season either way.

Next week is four day week and we are out for break on thursday. So I have finals on wednesday and thursday, then we leave for OH on sat! I'm so excited! I can't wait to see all you guys and Charlotte, and play Wii! haha. See you all soon! :)
Krista

Friday, December 14, 2007

We bought a travel cage for Patch so he can come to Ohio with us for Christmas. Its cute-- I just set it up with litter in it (so he can get used to it) and he immediately hopped in, marked his territory and started rearranging the litter with his paws. Patch is very meticulous, he likes the litter arranged just so.

Yesterday we were doing a bit of Christmas shopping and necessities shopping at the mall. I was hungry, and wanted something healthy, so we decided to try out the Japanese restaurant that we've never been to. I wanted a california roll and maybe some miso soup. Thats healthy, and usually inexpensive. So we went, and realized (too late) that this restaurant is one big buffet. It was a bit pricey (and we wouldn't have gone in, had we realized that) but it was actually worth it! I dared Adam to try raw oysters and some tune sashimi, and he did! I had some great sushi rolls, some chicken teriyaki and green tea cheesecake. There was also a custom crepe bar! The food was so good, and it was cool to be able to try new things. They had snow crab, grilled lobster, all kinds of sashimi, along with dumplings and other hot items. We're definitely going again sometime.

As I've mentioned, one of our favorite tv shows is Iron Chef. It's a Japanese TV show where challenger chefs battle the Iron Chefs to create new and interesting dishes containing the secret ingredient. Sometimes its something as mundane as chicken, sometimes its cool things like Bonito (fish), Abalone or Sea Urchin Roe. We love it. Our favorite chefs are Hiroyuki Sakai, because his dishes always look amazing, and also Chen Kenichi because he is always very humble. Going to this restaurant was kinda like Iron Chef!

Today Adam is finishing up his last class (yay!) and I have a bit of teaching to do. I think I'm getting sick...I feel stuffy, have a runny nose, and I have a slight headache :(

Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Life is busy for us, but winding down. Adam has finished one class and will finish the other this week. I'm trying to get Charlotte on a more regular sleep schedule, and some nights she resists and stays wide awake!

We're really looking forward to some time off in January. We're going to go to the lake for a few days- we haven't been in about 6 months! From December 15 - January 15 Adam has a break from school. We've gotten used to him constantly working, either at work or on school work, that we'll hardly know what to do with ourselves! Perhaps my arms will get a break from holding Charlotte all the time! It'll be fun to catch up on some Guitar Hero, and Mario Party. We will probably bring our Wii at Christmas time, so we can have an EXTREME WII SPORTS TOURNAMENT! Wii sports is easy to play even if you're over the age of 40, so don't worry all you grandparents, great-aunts and uncles and great-grandparents, you can play too. Perhaps I'll create Miis for everyone in advance.

We got a videocamera from Adam's Dad for Christmas, so we'll bring it with us. One of these days I'll figure out the editing software too, and make a DVD. We might be forced to buy a new computer this January (ours are both on their last legs) and I hear the new version of iMovie is easier to use, so maybe we'll do that and I can make up a DVD that way.

I'm seriously considering changing the permissions of our Flickr account so its visible to friends and family only. This means to view the pictures you need to sign up and be listed as a family member to see any pictures. The reason why I am considering this is safety- there are a lot of sickos out there, and I want to protect Charlotte. So go sign up, or wait until Christmas and I suppose I'll run a seminar on blogging and flickr-ing.

Wednesday, December 5, 2007

Lindsey

Hey everyone:
I'm hoping Lindsey has checked out this blog site but I know she hasn't because she doesn't even check her e-mail but I need to know what she wants for Christmas. She needs to get into the 21st century like every other college/high school student and spend all her time on the computer. I'm going to have a long talk with her at Christmas!! I bought the National Lampoon's Christmas vacation DVD and will bring it along to Ohio.

Hayley, what days are you, Adam and Charlotte going to be in Ohio? Are you and Deb's going to Youngstown also? Looking forward to seeing everyone!
Love,
Carol

Monday, December 3, 2007

A cute video!

Hi everyone!

Hi Lance Family!
Yes, Adam and Hayley this is a good idea. I agree that since we don't get together very often that this is a good way to keep in touch with what is going on in our lives.

Well, our family went out to Iowa for Thanksgiving and it was fun as always. Mom and dad left the Sat. before and then Lindsay, Taneesa, Kurt, and I left on Wednesday. We came back Saturday then. Ok, so I'm sure you are all wondering who Kurt is. Yes, he is my boyfriend and yes you will meet him over Christmas. I know, the jokes can start about how I always have somebody new, but hey how else am I supposed to find my husband!!!! He definitely is a keeper, so please don't be too hard on him! :)

Aunt Debbie, I would like one of those adapters for your car that you can hook your ipod up to and play your music. I am not sure what brand or exactly what it is called, but I will find out. I will have to ask Mark what it is called or if anyone else has one of these and has good recommendation for one please tell Aunt Debbie for me. Also, if they are too expensive just let me know and you can just get me a Visa gift card that would be fine.

Well, I hope everyone is having a good week and I will see you soon! I can't wait for everyone to come and visit! We will have so much fun as always! :)

Love you all,
Jenny

Debra's entries

OK - the first one was Jessica showing me how to do all this stuff!!! I tried last night but it didn't post, so I had to resort to Jessica's help.

Did you all see the pictures of Charlotte and how cute she is!!!!! Fat and cute!!!!! She's just a little doll and we are having fun with her. Stephen got to see her yesterday when Hayley came over and she smiled for him. He hasn't been able to see her for the past three weeks since his work schedule has been so crazy.

Mark and Jenny - we have your names for christmas and I need some ideas. I am trying to get the shopping done this week before it get too suicidal on the roads here. Really windy today and cold, but at least no snow. Let me know if you have some suggestions for Christmas. Thanks Aunt Debbie

Random

This is Debra trying to figure this out
Jessica is amazing by the way
buy her lots of gifts for christmas

Sunday, December 2, 2007

Pictures


There are 2 ways to get pictures on here.

1. Sign up for Flickr.

Go to www.Flickr.com and click "Create your Account" then follow the instructions. Let me know you've done this, and I'll add your pictures in slideshow format like ours.


2. Put a picture in a post.

As you're typing a post, look at the top of the frame and you'll see a little icon of a tiny landscape (its next to "abc"). Click it, and it should bring up a window. Underneath "Add an image from your computer" click browse and choose the picture you want to upload. Then confirm you want to upload this by clicking the buttuns in the window.

That should do it!
OK Hayley. I tried to put a photo on this blog and don't know how to do it. You will have to show me at Christmas time how to do it. Thanks.

Carol

Do you Flickr? You should!

I've added a new feature on the left column- a slideshow of our Flickr photos (click on the photos to view all of them). Flickr is a photo sharing website that allows you to upload pictures so everyone can view them. You can even order prints and pick them up at Target, or have them delivered in the mail. I really recommend signing up for Flickr. It's super easy to upload photos from your digital camera, and you can comment on our photos too. If you sign up, I can add a slideshow of your pictures!

http://www.flickr.com

This is fun!

I'm so glad everyone seems to be enjoying this so far! I must admit, I don't know everyone that well, despite the fact that Adam and I have been married for almost 6 years. Its nice to be able to keep up on current events in our lives, so when we do get together we aren't catching up on an entire year (or two, or three...) of events.

Adam and I love watching the TV shows Iron Chef and Good Eats. We don't actually have cable or TV at all, so we watch them on You Tube. The pictures to the left are links to different episodes. If you have an interest in a certain subject, let me know and I'll add it to the search. That way if you're interested in say, badgers, then badger videos will pop up. Let me know in a post.

I'm waiting for Adam to finish up work and come home right now, and Charlotte is sleeping next to me in her bed. We'll see how long that lasts! We just got home from a visit to her grandparents house, and I'm afraid Charlotte may be developing some separation anxiety! She was happy for a little while away from me, but then she got fussy. Hopefully, she'll be okay at Christmas, but I have to say I'm a little worried that she'll be overwhelmed by all the activity. Our days at home are very low-key. A friend of mine with a daughter 7 weeks older than Charlotte said her daughter had major separation anxiety over Thanksgiving with extended family. Let's pray Charlotte handles being passed around and "ooh'ed" and "aah'ed" over okay :-)

Saturday, December 1, 2007

Hello

Hey! This is a really cool idea Hayley!! I like it! So, yes, as my mom has explained, I swimming has officially started now and i'm really excited! Its going to be a great season! I'm hoping to make it to state in both my individual 50 and 100 freestyle, and then probably a relay too. Its in Ft. Collins, its just too bad Steph won't be there to see my 4th and last time at a highschool state meet. :(

Well I have applied to three schools: Colorado State University, University of Colorado, and University of Wisconsin, Steven's Point. I applied back in like October and have gotten granted admission back from all of them so thats good. I was going to apply to Miami of OH maybe, and look into some other OH schools, but I think my mind is pretty set on CU in Boulder. I already sent in my deposit saying that I have the possiblity of enrollment. Then they will send me stuff back all about dorm stuff and I can send in a deposit for a dorm. I'm doing it all really early so I will get a good choice on a dorm building. If I go there I will join the CU swim club team for sure. The coach actually went to Evergreen HS, kinda wierd. But I will be doing that, along with studying in the college of Architechture and Planning, as an open option in Environmental Design, which will probably narrow down into Interior Design. Sounds good for now at least!

I'm so excited to see you all at Christmas!! It will be another fun vacation!! Next one we need to go on a cruise! haha. Ok, well thats all from me! Great idea Hayley! :)
Love,
Krista

Links- add yours!

Hey Everyone--

You may have noticed that I added a few links on the left side of the page. If you have any websites you'd like me to add, write them in a post and I'll put them on the side. I think I'm the only administrator, but if I'm not and you find a way to add the links yourself, go ahead and do it :-)

-Hayley

Whats up family!

Hailey, I agree this is a good idea to keep in touch! I hope we can teach everyone at Christmas how to do this! I know teaching my mother might be a challenge! I am excited to see everyone and I have to remind Stephanie to bring her video camera so we can have another Lance Family Christmas video like last year!

I just got back from a middle school/high school lock-in that a group of us from my hall helped lead down in southwest Virginia. There were about twelve of us that went and about 150-200 showed up for the all nighter in this small coal mining town. It was a quick trip, with little sleep! A church puts on this lock-in every year with games and small bible sessions that kids can come to throughout the night.

Last week finished up my biggest week of classes. I had a couple finals and projects due, which I am happy are out of the way. Finals will be next week, so this week will just be dedicated to lots of studying! I also am applying to be an RA for next year, and that application was due this past week. It is a really long process here to be an RA. My application was 7 pages long, plus a personailty test and spiritual gifts test! The first elimination is not until January, so it will be a while until I hear back about it.

Well, thats about it for now. I will be home sometime on Dec. 13 and hopefully will start work at Smucker's the following Monday. They called me before Thanksgiving and asked me to work some hours while I am home, so hopefully I can fill up most of my break with work seeing as the bank account is rapidly depleting! Hope all is well with everyone else, see you all soon!

Mark

Hello Family!

Hayley, this is a good idea! I'm so glad you did it but I'm not sure how many other family members will do it. You'll have to show Grandma Donna how to do it. I wasn't going to bring my computer to Ohio but I may now so you can show me how to do all kinds of things. I want to set up a website for my sewing/quilts and just haven't had time to play with it much. I hope someone else looks at this to get all my news.

Swimming has started for Krista. Last night was the first meet and we won. She was close to qualifying for state in the 50 free so she will definitely do that. She needs to break a minute for the 100 free and she was 1:03 last night but she said she swallowed lots of water on her turn so hopefully next time she will do better. Krista was voted CAPTAIN with 2 other girls for the team. I was hoping she would make Captain, Stephanie was also her senior year! Our next meet is Thurs. at 1,500 feet higher than what we are used to but they usually do pretty well. Then a bunch of us went for pizza after the meet with the coaches. Our coaches are awesome and fun. We had a BIG discussion last night about Sebastian from the Little Mermaid. Is he a crab or a lobster. We were looking on Larry's blackberry and it came up a crab but the adults swear he looks like a lobster. He has the lobster tail. I'm going to be doing some sewing today and I'm going to watch The Little Mermaid. What do you think? Is he a lobster or a crab??

We are doing some remodeling in our house and Larry is always in a bad mood with it and he's not even here all day to put up with them. The other day I came home and the house smelled like a barnyard and we can't seem to get the smell out and we don't know what it is. I assume it has to do with what they are doing but we don't know. He's really pissed about that. The contractor can't figure it out either.

We are redoing our master bath and updating it. It really looked old. We are re-tiling the shower stall and putting euro doors on. Taking up the carpet and putting Travertine tile down with the heated floor underneath so it's warmer to walk on. New tile around the bath tub. New toilet. New cabinets, faucets, towel bars, etc. And then re-texturing the walls and ceiling to match the rest of the house which we did about 3 years ago. Then paint. In the master bedroom we are re-texturing the walls and re-painting. Putting hardwood floor down in the little office off the bedroom. And then re-doing the fireplace. There was just tile around the fireplace and we are putting up the fake stone with a mantle and mounting a new flat screen TV above the mantle. I like that because now I can get rid of the counsel TV that is in my sewing room and put the old TV we had in our bedroom down there. The counsel is about 25 years old. The one from the bedroom is ONLY 10 years old so I'm excited. The counsel is still working just fine. When you first turn it on though the picture is not as clear. It has to warm up then the picture is fine. lol So that's about about all from here. They are supposed to be done by Christmas but I know they won't be. Oh Well! We won't be here anyway!

I like how this automatically saves your draft because knowing me I would touch the wrong key and screw something up.

Stephanie is working on finals over the next 2 weeks then she'll be home around the 13th. She's also working on getting all her side trips planned for her Semester at Sea! She has all her visas and shots. There is a parent trip we got info on and Larry and I are considering it. I wanted to go somewhere exotic for our spring break because Krista is going to Paris for spring break and we would be alone. I was originally thinking Costa Rica but then this trip came up and lo and behold it's the same time as Krista's spring break!! I was so excited. We would be going to Bangkok, Ho Chi Min City, and Cambodia! We would meet up with Steph in Ho Chi Min City and do a side trip with her. It's 10 days and Krista will be gone 7 but I really want to do it. We have to decide by Dec.12 and Larry is having a fit (typical Lance) because we are spending so much money on this remodeling. I have to keep working on him! I sure hope we do it. I've only been to side of the world (Canada & Mexico) so traveling to the other side of the world would be awesome. I figure if Steph & Krista can do it...we should be able to also.

Our spring break is March 22-29 and Krista is going to Paris with another family who goes there ALL the time and with 5 other friends of hers. She is excited about that! She was in Holland this past summer with People to People, swimming. She met a really nice girl her age from Seattle and they've been communicating and texting each other all the time. We are sending a swim T-Shirt from Krista's team that the seniors designed this year.

Well that's about all from Colorado. It's been cold here but no snow so to speak. Vail got about a foot this week but that's all. I know not everyone will read this so can I save all this and e-mail people? I will have to figure out how to put pictures on this and I can you show you all our bathroom and bedroom when it's finished. You can help me with that Hayley at Christmas. I'm so glad you are going to be in Ohio for Christmas! We will have so much fun. I didn't know you liked to do crafts.

Well I'm almost out of battery so need to plug in! Everyone have a GREAT weekend and we'll see you all soon.
Love,
Larry, Carol, Stephanie & Krista

Friday, November 30, 2007

First Post

Welcome to our Family Blog.

This is a place for everyone to post about their lives, and update us on news you think we might like to know about. You can comment on someone else's post, eliminating the need to email that person individually. Hopefully this will be a fun way to stay connected!